Warning message

Please note that this page is from our archives. There may be more up-to-date content about this topic on our website. Use our search engine to find out.

Lorraine Michael and the NDP have made a historic breakthrough in Newfoundland and Labrador.

The party picked up a record-high five seats in last night’s provincial election, four of which were in the City of St. John’s, and placed a strong second in 23 ridings. They also came within one seat of forming the opposition.

Michael will be joined in caucus by:

  • Gerry Rogers in St. John’s Centre
  • Dale Kirby, the party president, St. John’s North
  • George Murphy in St. John’s East
  • Christopher Mitchelmore in The Straits-White Bay North

The New Democrats had previously never held more than two seats.

CUPE had four members running in this election.  Here’s how they fared:

  • Julie Mitchell, a school board worker and candidate twice before, lost by just 40 votes to the PC incumbent Burin-Placentia West (a recount is expected)
  • Bill Kavanagh, a member of Local 1615 at Memorial University, finished a strong second in Conception Bay East-Bell Island
  • Keith Dunne, an organizer with the Canadian Federation of Students at Memorial, finished a very strong second in St. John’s South
  • Paul Boundridge, a Local 1289 members with Newfoundland and Labrador Housing, finished a very strong second in Kilbride

There are a total of 48 seats in the provincial legislature.  The PC’s formed a majority government with 37 seats.  Kathy Dunderdale becomes the first elected female premier in Canadian history.