Warning message

Please note that this page is from our archives. There may be more up-to-date content about this topic on our website. Use our search engine to find out.

VICTORIACUPE BC elected their executive board on the final day of the 46th annual convention.

Barry O’Neill was acclaimed as president for a seventh term, while Mark Hancock was acclaimed for his third term as the union’s secretary-treasurer.

In the voting for general vice presidents, incumbents Cindy McQueen and Deb Taylor are joined by Paul Faoro president CUPE 15 (Vancouver) and Steven Storch president CUPE 3799 University of Northern BC (Prince George).

“Elections are the root of the democratic process that keeps our union strong,” said O’Neill. “It’s always a privilege to see how many CUPE activists are willing to offer so much of themselves. I congratulate everyone who put their name forward and look forward to working with the new board.”

Here is your new executive board with re-elected members marked (I) for incumbent, new members marked (N) and those returning after an absence marked ( R ):

President, Barry O’Neill (I)

Secretary-treasurer,Mark Hancock (I)

General vice-presidents

Paul Faoro (N)
Cindy McQueen (I)
Steven Storch (N)
Debbie Taylor (I)

Regional vice-presidents
Fraser Valley, Darlene Smith (I)
Alternate, Paul Albrecht (N)

Kootenays, Susan Blair (I)
Alternate, Brian Harvey (N)

North, Dan Weiman (I)
Alternate, Sandi Taylor (I)

Metro, Mike Jackson (N)
Colin Pawson (N)
Susan Zander (I)
Alternate, Michael Lanier (I)

Okanagan, John Hall (N)
Alternate, Carolae Donoghue (N)

Vancouver Island, Doug Sprenger (I)
Keith Todd (I)
Alternate, Trevor Davies (N)

Diversity vice-presidents

Aboriginal, Leann Louie (N)
Alternate, Debra Merrier (N)

Worker of Colour, Shehnaz Motani (N)
Alternate, Dal Benning (N)

Three-year Trustee, Colleen Wiens (N)

Two-year Trustee, Frank Lee (N)

Outgoing general vice-presidents Carlene Keddie and Bev LaPointe thanked the union and members of the executive for their support as activists during their terms on the board.