Warning message

Please note that this page is from our archives. There may be more up-to-date content about this topic on our website. Use our search engine to find out.

Delegates at one of the largest CUPE Ontario Conventions in history showed their confidence in Ontario leaders by renewing the mandate of division officers, including Fred Hahn as president and Candace Rennick as secretary-treasurer.

The CUPE Ontario executive board will have a busy year ahead with continuing fights against the Ontario government’s job-killing budget and acts that will erode retirement security and stomp on our collective bargaining rights.

Both Hahn and Rennick thanked their respective partners for their support and promised delegates to continue the fight for workers’ rights and to work hard to advance the agenda of CUPE members in Ontario.

Here is your new CUPE Ontario Executive Board:

Fred Hahn – President
Candace Rennick – Secretary-Treasurer
Michael Hurley – First Vice-President
Yolanda McClean – Second Vice-President
Andrea Madden – Third Vice-President
Henri Giroux – Fourth Vice-President
Joanne Webb – Diversity Vice-President Aboriginal Workers
Veriline Howe – Diversity Vice-President, Racialized Workers

Executive Member At Large:

  • Vern Andrus
  • Darrell Day
  • Helen Fetterly
  • Denise Hammond
  • Jenn Mizerovsky
  • Don Postar


  • Lisa Andrews

LGBTQ workers get new Diversity VP   

Following several passionate speeches in support, a constitutional amendment from the Pink Triangle Committee passed with unanimous approval from delegates. The amendment adds a new Diversity Vice-President, LGBTQ Workers to the CUPE Ontario Executive Board.