Warning message

Please note that this page is from our archives. There may be more up-to-date content about this topic on our website. Use our search engine to find out.

EDMONTON - CUPE locals in Alberta are invited to submit nominations for the CUPE Alberta 2006 Equality award. The award will be presented at the CUPE Alberta Convention in Fort McMurray, March 23-25, 2006.

The Equality award recognizes a CUPE activist whose work on equality issues has made a difference in promoting equality and challenging discrimination against our sisters and brothers. Equality issues include activism on women’s rights, disability issues, childcare issues, racism and discrimination based on sexual orientation.

Previous recipients of the award are: Barb Ames (2000), Trudy Casselton (2001) Joey Sayer (2002) Tom Dick (2003) and Ian Crichton (2004).

Nominations should include a profile of your nominee, as well as a brief outline of how the activist’s contribution to the labour movement has assisted trade unionists. The deadline for nominations is February 3, 2006.

Submit your nominations to Leeanne Morrow via email at:

or by regular mail at:
5120-17 Ave NW
Calgary, AB
T3B 0P7