Warning message

Please note that this page is from our archives. There may be more up-to-date content about this topic on our website. Use our search engine to find out.

(St. Johns) Delegates to CUPE Newfoundland and Labradors 30th convention have unanimously re-elected Wayne Lucas to another two-year term as their provincial president, his 8th consecutive term.

As well, the public sector workers from across NL heard from their National Secretary-Treasurer that the unions strike fund is healthier than its ever been, now sitting at $19 million dollars.

Claude Gnreux said, CUPE members in NL have already begun the work to defeat the anti-worker agenda of the Williams government knowing full well that our unions strike fund is healthy and strong.

The people of NL will certainly not forget the attack on public sector workers and their families that took place in April of this year, one that saw 20,000 CUPE and NAPE members on the street for 28 days, said Gnreux.

Delegates also passed a number of resolutions, including one to keep the cleanup of the St. Johns Harbour in public hands.

The CUPE NL Executive Board for 2004-2005 is:

  • President Wayne Lucas
  • Vice-President Donna Ryan
  • Recording Secretary Dawn Lahey
  • Secretary-Treasurer Ed Whelan
  • Three Executive Officers Sam Kelly, Warrick Cluney, Kelvin McDonald
  • Trustee (3-year term) Fern Cross

For information:
Wayne Lucas, President, CUPE NL - (709) 727-2509 (Cell)
John McCracken, CUPE Communications Rep. - (902) 455-4180 (o)