Members of CUPE 5512 have voted with a 71 percent majority to ratify a new collective agreement with Prairie South School Division.

“We want to thank all of our members for staying strong and united through a difficult round of bargaining. The gains we made at the table would not have been possible without the strong strike mandate from our members and your ongoing support,” said Dale Smith, president of CUPE 5512.

The union was able to achieve a number of monetary and non-monetary improvements, including a wage increase totaling 5.5 percent over the term of the agreement, a $700 signing bonus, and maintained a retirement gratuity. The new term of the agreement is from August 31, 2017, to August 31, 2022.

“The CUPE 5512 executive will continue to advocate for our members, which includes advocating for sufficient K-12 funding, and working to address violence in the workplace,” said Smith.

CUPE 5512 represents approximately 422 members who work for the Prairie South School Division #210. Our members include Administrative Assistants, Bus Drivers, Concession Workers, Educational Assistants, Facility Operators, Handymen, Journey-person Carpenters, Journey-person Electricians, Journey-person Plumbers, Library Associates, Library Technicians, Maintenance Workers, Social Workers, and Speech and Language Pathology Assistants.

CUPE 5512 members work in the following Prairie South School Division #210 facilities/schools: AE Peacock Collegiate, Assiniboia 7th Avenue, Assiniboia Composite High, Assiniboia Elementary, Avonlea, Bengough, Caronport Elementary, Central Butte, Central Collegiate, Chaplin, Coronach, Craik, Empire, Eyebrow, Glentworth, Ecole Gravelbourg, Ecole Palliser Heights, Kincaid Central, King George, Lafleche Central, Lindale, Maintenance Building, Mankota, Mortlach, Mossbank, Prince Arthur, Riverview Collegiate, Rockglen, Rouleau, Sunningdale, Transportation Department, Westmount, and William Grayson.