Warning message

Please note that this page is from our archives. There may be more up-to-date content about this topic on our website. Use our search engine to find out.

(Halifax) - Eleven members and retired members of Canada’s largest union have been elected in Nova Scotia’s 2008 municipal and school board elections.

CUPE Nova Scotia President Danny Cavanagh says, “Of the 21 activists who ran, 11 were successful.  We have been laying the groundwork for this for the last few years in our province. Last year we had a Political Action Conference that had record attendance with lots of first time delegates.

It just goes to show you that with a lot of hard work, working people can make a difference in the political arena. We look forward to working with these 11 individuals over the next four years to protect public services as well as the rights of working people,” he says.

Here are the winning candidates:

• Shirley McNamara, CUPE 955, District 5 Richmond (incumbent)
• Malcolm Madden, CUPE 2272, District 5, Municipality of Argyle
• Terry Rhindress, retired CUPE 3890, Amherst (incumbent)
• Karen MacKenzie, CUPE 2525, District 11, Colchester County
• Donnie MacInnis, CUPE 1867, Antigonish (incumbent)
• Jackie Barkhouse, CUPE 108, District 8, Woodside-Eastern Passage, HRM (incumbent)
• Rod Murphy, CUPE 2272, District 2, Municipality of Argyle
• Linda Gregory, CUPE 835, District 3, Municipality of Digby (incumbent)
• Dave LeBlanc, CUPE 5050, District 11, Cape Breton Regional Municipality
• Elizabeth Paris, CUPE 2330, Chignecto-Central School Board, African N.S. seat (incumbent) 
• Murray Goodwin, CUPE 964, District 2, Municipality of Yarmouth

For information:  Danny Cavanagh          John McCracken
                          CUPE N.S. President     CUPE Communications Rep.