Warning message

Please note that this page is from our archives. There may be more up-to-date content about this topic on our website. Use our search engine to find out.

Members of the Toronto Civic Employees Union CUPE Local 416 have shown confidence in the leadership that led the union’s outside division through last summer’s strike by electing President Mark Ferguson and returning all other executive members.

The members are maintaining the strength and solidarity that saw them through a difficult period,” said Ferguson, who, as vice-president, stepped into the position last year following the retirement of former President Brian Cochrane.  “Clearly they have confidence in this executive and are happy with the collective agreements that we have been able to achieve in the last year.”

In addition to the city’s outside workers, TCEU Local 416 represents employees at Toronto Parking Authority, Toronto Housing Corporation, Enwave, York Community Services, Yorktown Child and Family Centre and Toronto Port Authority.

We know the tough times are just beginning for city workers,” Ferguson said.  “With a solid executive and a membership standing firmly behind them, we are ready to engage with others in the community as we grapple with the challenges facing Toronto while working to ensure that our services remain public.”

All executive positions but one were contested in the election, which was conducted through mail-in ballot.  The following were elected for a three-year term:

Mark Ferguson, President
Dave Hewitt, Vice-President
Darin Jackson, Secretary-Treasurer 
Ken Fanjoy, Outside Chair
Jim Innes, Recording Secretary
Peter Ouelette, Chair of Health & Safety
Colin MacDonald, Committee & Grievance Coordinator
Ron Johnson, Chief of Stewards (acclaimed)