An unprecedented coalition has launched an urgent appeal to governments to take action without delay to strengthen the foundations of this country’s cultural and media ecosystem. In the face of growing inequity in the communications industry, the signatories of the manifesto, titled CONTINUITY – EQUITY – SUPPORT, are seeking to establish a framework to guide new policy development.

“Multinational corporations like Google, Apple, Facebook, Amazon, Netflix and Spotify offer services providing access to a vast range of content without having to follow the same rules as companies in Québec and across Canada when it comes to taxes, fees and regulations,” the document states. “At the same time, Internet service providers (ISPs) and electronic device manufacturers offer access to music, audiovisual productions and digital books without contributing to funding the creation process that drives their profits.”

The timing for the launch of this manifesto is hardly random. The federal government is currently preparing to reform its laws and policies governing culture and communications – along with a review of the Copyright Act – at a time when the Québec government is also in consultations concerning an initiative to renew its cultural policy and conduct a review of its digital strategy.

“After watching our governments follow a laissez-faire approach for years, we feel that it is time for action to help our cultural and media companies regain the stability they need in order to succeed,” adds the manifesto.

The manifesto emphasizes that in addition to adequate funding, all possible means must be implemented to maintain the industry’s vitality and, in so doing, protect the hundreds of thousands of jobs generated by cultural and media companies across the country.

Nearly 40 organizations representing hundreds of thousands of people have signed the manifesto to date. They are encouraging people to follow their lead in order to send a clear message to the provincial and federal governments. Individuals or organizations seeking to view the manifesto or to add their voices to this collective outcry are invited to visit the website


  • Alliance of Canadian Cinema, Television and Radio Artists (ACTRA)
  • Alliance québécoise des techniciens de l’image et du son (AQTIS)
  • Association des professionnels de l’édition musicale (APEM)
  • Association des propriétaires de cinémas du Québec (APCQ)
  • Association des réalisateurs et réalisatrices du Québec (ARRQ)
  • Association nationale des éditeurs de livres (ANEL)
  • Association québécoise de la production médiatique (AQPM)
  • Association québécoise de l’industrie du disque, du spectacle et de la vidéo (ADISQ)
  • Association québécoise des cinémas d’art et d’essai (AQCAE)
  • Canadian Media Producers Association (CMPA)
  • Conseil québécois des arts médiatiques (CQAM)
  • Destiny Tchéhouali, director, Observatoire des réseaux et interconnexions de la société numérique (ORISON) - UQAM
  • DOC Canada, including its Quebec chapter
  • Fédération culturelle canadienne-française (FCCF)
  • Fédération des travailleurs et travailleuses du Québec (FTQ)
  • Front des réalisateurs indépendants du Canada (FRIC)
  • Forum for Research and Policy in Communications (FRPC)
  • Directors Guild of Canada (DGC)
  • Guilde des musiciens et musiciennes du Québec (GMMQ)
  • Friends of Canadian Broadcasting
  • Documentary Network
  • Michèle Rioux, director, Centre d’études sur l’intégration et la mondialisation (CEIM)
  • On Screen Manitoba
  • Performers’ Rights Society (PRS)
  • Québec Cinéma
  • Quebec English-language Production Council (QEPC)
  • Regroupement des artisans de la musique (RAM)
  • Société de gestion collective des droits des producteurs de phonogrammes et de vidéogrammes du Québec (SOPROQ)
  • Société des auteurs de radio, télévision et cinéma (SARTEC)
  • Society for Reproduction Rights of Authors, Composers and Publishers in Canada (SODRAC)
  • Société Internet du Québec
  • Société professionnelle des auteurs et compositeurs du Québec (SPACQ)
  • Canadian Union of Public Employees (CUPE) and its communications sector provincial council (CPSC)
  • Syndicat des employées et employés professionnels-les et de bureau (SEPB)
  • Table de concertation de l’industrie du cinéma et de la télévision de la Capitale-Nationale
  • Unifor-Québec
  • Union des artistes (UDA)