Delegates to the CUPE Newfoundland Labrador Division Convention elected a new executive board at the 46th annual division Convention held in St. John’s on September 25, 2020.

CUPE NL Division Executive Board being sworn in by Regional Director Tracey Pinder

Photo, from left to right: Nicole Dunphy, Theresa Gillam, Mike Tobin, Eileen Morgan, Theresa Antle, Jason Tarbett, Sherry Hillier, Ernest Green and Tracey Pinder. Missing from photo: Suzanne Hiron and Stacey Lucas.

The executive board now has representation from seven sectors of work including health care, long-term care, libraries, post-secondary education, K-12 education, and the addition of an executive officer from NL Housing and from the City of Mount Pearl (municipalities).

The new board also reflects the geography of province. Seven of the ten positions on the board are now held by women.

Women hold 70% of the positions on the CUPE NL Executive Board. Only 20% of members in the NL House of Assembly are women.

President Sherry Hillier and Vice-President Ernest Green were both acclaimed for another term, as were Recording Secretary Theresa Gillam and Executive Officer Theresa Antle. Former Recording Secretary Mike Tobin is now the Secretary-Treasurer.

Joining the executive board for their first term are Jason Tarbett and Nicole Dunphy, who are both now executive officers, as well as Eileen Morgan who is now a trustee (three-year term).

The newly elected board members took the oath of office, sworn in by CUPE’s new Atlantic Regional Director Tracey Pinder.

As per the CUPE NL Constitution, the term of office for the president, vice-president, recording secretary, secretary-treasurer and three executive officers will be for two years. The term of office for the trustees will be between one and three years.

Thank you to all the members who ran for an executive board position and to all delegates who participated in voting.

The full executive board for 2020-2021 is as follows:

Sherry Hillier

Ernest Green

Mike Tobin

Theresa Gillam

Theresa Antle
Nicole Dunphy
Jason Tarbett

Suzanne Hiron
Stacey Lucas
Eileen Morgan