Representatives of the CSN and the FTQ were present this morning to urge MLAs arriving at the National Assembly to demand fair recognition of medical device reprocessing technicians. They invited the MLAs to speak for the technicians so that the government finally resolves their complaints relating to the maintenance of pay equity.

Catching up on the backlog of surgeries begins with recognizing the technicians

At a time when the government wants to clear up the backlog of surgeries postponed due to the pandemic, the CSN and the FTQ are reminding everyone that these technicians play a crucial role in this, for they are responsible for sterilizing medical and surgical equipment. By refusing to recognize their essential contribution, the government has caused an exodus from the profession. In recent months, many technicians have left, which has caused a staff shortage and given the private sector increasingly more opportunities to fill the breach. The growing reliance on the private sector has sparked some concern about the quality of the reprocessing work done.

It is deplorable that the government has still not provided a mandate to resolve complaints

In spite of numerous interventions by both union organizations, the Secrétariat du Conseil du trésor still does not have a mandate to recognize the evolution of this job category and the urgency of resolving the complaints on maintaining pay equity dating back to 2010. The work done by reprocessing technicians has evolved significantly since 2001 and become more complex over time.

“The government has all of the cards it needs to increase its recognition of the technicians’ efforts. They have been working tirelessly since the start of the pandemic, and the resumption of surgeries will be no picnic for them. Many have left the system due to this lack of recognition. Minister LeBel must put an end to the wage discrimination affecting the technicians,” said Josée Marcotte, vice-president of the Fédération de la santé et des services sociaux (FSSS-CSN), Maxime Ste-Marie, president of the Conseil provincial des affaires sociales du SCFP-FTQ and Sylvie Nelson, president of the SQEES-FTQ.